ISO Programs

Iso Standard img

With us at 6σ Consulting we offer a quick brief Introduction session as well as detailed study about various ISO Standard Programme. ISO is owned and maintained by the International Standards Organization (ISO). The most common ISO Standards which is popular is ISO 9000 -It was first published in 1987, based on British Standards Institute (BSI) BS5750 series. ISO 9001:2000 combined the three standards—9001, 9002, and 9003—into one, called 9001. The current version is ISO 9001:2015. The ISO 9000 family addresses ‘Quality management’.

The adoption of a quality management system is a strategic decision for an organization that can help to improve its overall performance and provide a sound basis for sustainable development initiatives.

The potential benefits to an organization of implementing a quality management system based on this International Standard are:

  • the ability to consistently provide products and services that meet customer and applicable
  • statutory and regulatory requirements;
  • facilitating opportunities to enhance customer satisfaction;
  • addressing risks and opportunities associated with its context and objectives;
  • the ability to demonstrate conformity to specified quality management system requirements.

This International Standard can be used by internal and external parties. It is not the intent of this International Standard to imply the need for:

  • uniformity in the structure of different quality management systems;
  • alignment of documentation to the clause structure of this International Standard;
  • the use of the specific terminology of this International Standard within the organization.

The quality management system requirements specified in this International Standard are complementary to requirements for products and services.

This International Standard employs the process approach, which incorporates the Plan-Do-Check-Act

(PDCA) cycle and risk-based thinking

Other than ISO 9000 we also train you about :

  • ISO 14000 family of environmental management standards
  • ISO 14001 Environmental management
  • ISO/IEC 27001 Information security management
  • ISO 31000:2009, Risk management.

ISO 9001

ISO 9001 is part of the ISO 9000 family of standards, and represents an international consensus on good quality management practices. It consists of standards and guidelines relating to quality management systems and related supporting standards. General guidance on the fundamentals of Quality management systems can be found in the publication ISO 9000:2005 – Fundamentals and vocabulary.

ISO 9001, owned and maintained by the International Standards Organization (ISO) was first published in 1987, based on British Standards Institute (BSI) BS5750 series. ISO 9001:2000 combined the three standards—9001, 9002, and 9003—into one, called 9001. The current version is ISO 9001:2008/Cor 1:2009. The ISO 9000 family addresses ‘Quality management’. This means what the organization does to fulfil the customer›s quality requirements, and applicable regulatory requirements, while aiming to enhance customer satisfaction, and achieve continual improvement of its performance in pursuit of these objectives.

  • The management of resources
  • The quality of the product
  • The maintenance of quality records
  • The requirement for continual improvement.

ISO 14000

ISO 14000 series is owned and maintained by ISO (International Organization for Standardization). It is a series of international, voluntary environmental management standards, guides and technical reports. The first two standards, ISO 14001:2004 and ISO 14004:2004 deal with environmental management systems (EMS). ISO 14001:2004 provides the requirements for an EMS and ISO 14004:2004 gives general EMS guidelines.

The other standards and guidelines in the family address specific environmental aspects, including: labelling, performance evaluation, life cycle analysis, communication and auditing.

ISO 14001:2004 does not specify levels of environmental performance. If it specified levels of environmental performance, they would have to be specific to each business activity and this would require a specific EMS standard for each business.

ISO has many other standards dealing with specific environmental issues. The intention of ISO 14001:2004 is to provide a framework for a holistic, strategic approach to the organization’s environmental policy, plans and actions.

Environmental management system.

The underlying philosophy is that whatever the organization’s activity, the requirements of an effective EMS are the same.

The EMS standards

  • ISO 14004:2004 provides guidelines on the elements of an environmental management system and its implementation, and discusses principal issues involved.
  • ISO 14001:2004 specifies the requirements for such an environmental management system. Fulfilling these requirements demands objective evidence which can be audited to demonstrate that the environmental management system is operating effectively in conformity to the standard.

ISO 31000

ISO 31000:2009: Comprises principles, a framework and a process for the management of risk that is applicable to any type of organization in the public or private sector.

ISO 31000:2009 provides guidance on the implementation of risk management. It was first published as a standard in November 2009, and is owned by the International Standards Organization (ISO). The ISO 31000 family includes:

  • ISO 31000:2009; Principles and Guidelines on Implementation
  • ISO/IEC 31010:2009; Risk Management - Risk Assessment Techniques
  • ISO Guide 73:2009; Risk Management – Vocabulary

ISO 31000 provides generic guidelines for the design, implementation and maintenance of risk management processes throughout an organization. The scope of this approach, to risk management is to enable all strategic, management and operational tasks of an organization throughout projects, functions, and processes to be aligned to a common set of risk management objectives. ISO 31000:2009 comprises three building blocks (Figure).

The First Building Block, the Risk Management Infrastructure, states that risk management should contain the following principles:

  • Creates value
  • Integral part of organizational processes
  • Part of decision-making
  • Explicitly addresses uncertainty
  • Systematic, structured and timely
  • Based on the best available information
  • Tailored to the organization
  • Takes human and cultural factors into account
  • Transparent and inclusive
  • Dynamic, iterative and responsive to change
  • Facilitates continual improvement of the organization

Other than this we also teach about other framework which may or may not applicable to your business:

  • M_o_R®
  • MoP™
  • P3O®